Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kohl's.

Propel Toys Propel Toys Doom Fighter

Featuring an interactive battle mode using two-way infrared technology, you can use this Propel Toys Doom Fighter to fight with your friends in mid-air.
Average Customer Rating:
2.8 out of 5
2.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
4
7 out of 15(47%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Review 1 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Wexford
State: PA
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Great for the price
Date:12/15/2012
I purchased two helicopters for my nephews that are ages 4 and 6. The helicopters were easy to control and extremely durable. The age range listed is +8 but my nephews did just fine with them. The helicopters would crash many times, never breaking once! Downside would be when they are in flight, the flight time isn't long. The helicopter stays charged approximately 15-30 minutes and flight time is intermittent about 1-2 minutes. The directions say to use indoors but my nephews used them outside with no problem. They had to make sure they stayed in close range to the helicopter but after 1-2 minutes they would lose flight; in-door flights were the same case. Overall, great product for the price and age range. If your purchasing for an older child or adult it might be better to spend more money and go for the higher priced item (Longer flight time/better controls). This product I would consider for the young and novice.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 2 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: T-Ville
State: MI
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once every two weeks
mixed reviews on the product
Date:12/31/2012
Pros: take off fly hover and land with ease, nice features
Cons: out of stock when one had to be returned
I purchased two Propel Doom Fighters for my two grandsons for Christmas, ages 11 & 12. Thought the interactive battle feature was a great idea for them. We watched Christmas Eve as the boys flew them with ease and "battled" it out. Not once did they have any crashes. They played for about 20 minutes at a time. One only lasted 2 hours and completely died! The dads tried to repair it but no luck. The remote still worked and the other Doom Fighter is still working fine. They are very easy to fly. Other family members wanted one because of this. Some said their expensive helicopers didn't take off, fly, hover and land with such ease. One grandson sad because they are out of stock as it had to be returned.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 3 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: sterling heights, mi
State: MI
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Didnt work after 2 test flights.
Date:01/04/2013
Pros: slow enough flight that easy to use
Cons: remote control not sturdy enough?
I purchased this for my 9 yr old son, for Christmas. I pretested it before Christmas and it worked. However, when my son (and I) played with it together on Christmas day after the 2nd flight the remote stopped synching with the copter and it wouldnt fly anymore. We thought it needed to be charged so we charged it up. After we charged the copter it still wouldnt work. I'm guessing there was problem with the remote control. I ordered a different helicopter since Kohls was out of this one.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 4 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Remote didn't work....
Date:01/24/2013
I bought a set of these Fighting copters for an Xmas gift for the reason that that are interactive via the infrared. But one of the remotes did not work correctly and therefore, the copter couldn't be flown. When I returned the damaged helecopter to Kohls, I was told that the item is "seasonal" and therefore, no longer available. All they could do was give me a refund. So much for the interactive part of my Xmas gift. Very disappointed.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 5 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
State: NY
Age: 55-65
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Great value and tons of fun
Date:01/02/2013
I purchased this helicopter for my 13 year old grandson for Christmas. He had no more opened it and started flying it when all the grown men in the room wanted to play with it also. We were all impressed with the quality , durability and overall value of this product. All the men were headed out to buy one for themselves !
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 6 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Waukesha
State: WI
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a week
Keeps my husband and his friends entertained
Date:01/04/2013
Cons: not a long battery life
My husband and his friends like to play against each other with these helicopters. My 3 yr old is also entertained by it. The only problem with the helicopter is that it doesn't last long. After about 5-10 minutes it needs to be charged. For the price and how much fun my husband has, it was worth it.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 7 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
State: WI
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Broke in three days
Date:01/12/2013
We ordered two of these for Christmas and admittedly played with them pretty much nonstop. Both helicopter motors broke within a few hours of each other on the third day, so it wasn't a fluke. Admittedly, they were a whole lot of fun while they lasted, but they're obviously poorly made.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 8 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
GREAT GIFT
Date:12/16/2012
I got this for my 7 yr old son and he LOVES IT.. It took alittle practice to learn how to fly it but when he got the hang of it he never puts it down. Its nice that it charges on the remote control but the down fall is, it takes 6 AA batteries but its well worth it.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 9 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Roaring Branch
State: PA
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Less than five times per year
They were very well built
Date:12/26/2012
I bought 2 helicopters to give as gifts to my grandsons and they had a ball with them. They crashed but didn't fall apart which made me very pleased. The detail on them was fantastic and the lasar shots looked so real it made the war very real to them.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 10 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Minneapolis
State: MN
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Remote and copter would not synch
Date:01/23/2013
The remote and the helicopter only synched a couple of times, would not stay synched and then stopped synching all together.
Flying the helicopter was very difficult, and there were many problems making it fly.
Would not recommend this to anyone.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 11 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Oklahoma City
State: OK
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Less than five times per year
This product is a waste of money.
Date:01/28/2013
Work for awhile, but hard to control it. It kept crashing. You have to keep recharging it, because it will only stay running for about 6 minutes. After about 1 week of use, it no longer works at all. I would get an outdoor model.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 12 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: txchic
State: TX
Could be better
Date:02/01/2013
Bought 2 of these, 1 didn't work from the beginning. By the time they were opened for Christmas, no more in stock so the defective one couldn't be replaced. :(
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 13 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Mesa
State: AZ
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Coolest ever
Date:01/30/2013
THis was a big hit this Christmas. My son received 4 different helicopters as gifts, and this one hands down was his favorite! Sturdy, fun, and long life.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 14 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Bakersfield
State: CA
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Couldn't get it to work.
Date:02/02/2013
We couldn't get our helicopter to fly. It would rev up and hover a couple of inches off the ground and then crash head first. We returned it.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 15 for Propel Toys Doom Fighter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Broke
Date:01/02/2013
This helo broke within 24 hrs. My brother was so excited about this when he opened. It lasted no time.
0points
0of 0liked this review