Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kohl's.

MAGIC CHEF Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker

You just might think it's magic. Why? This portable ice maker features a sleek, stainless steel design that makes ice cubes in as little as six minutes. In fact, it can make up to 30 pounds of ice in 24 hours. With a compact, countertop size that conveniently fits in small spaces. And recessed side handles to provide easy portability. Flip top and see-through window give you easy accessibility. Plus, the interior basket and exterior drain make for trouble-free emptying. The perfect accessory for your home bar or kitchen.
Average Customer Rating:
4.146 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (41 reviews)
5 stars
25
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
33 out of 41(80%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Review 1 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Centerpoint
State: IN
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
We love it!
Date:12/04/2013
Pros: very quite when running
This ice maker is really great! In the long run it is going to pay for itself. We was buying a bag of ice every week. We have well water and ice just didn't taste the same. So that is why we bought ice instead of making our own. No, we wasn't lazy, lol. We was spending around $3.80 a week for ice. So like I said the ice maker is paying for itself. It makes 3 different sizes of ice which is excellent. If u want crush ice. Just make small cubes, put in blender and you have slushy drinks instantly, very simply. Large cubes for coolers, and they don't melt fast either. Last all day and thru evening. We really enjoy it. When it runs it is very quite. You won't be disappointed! Good Luck.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 2 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: palmdale
State: CA
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
AWSOME
Date:03/16/2013
I received the first one as a gift used it once and had to return it. the second one I have had for approx. 4-5 years originally it was to be used for backyard BBQs 4-5 times a year. We had to use it 24/7 for the last 4 years due to sports injuries and surgeries. this past weekend the machine finally gave out and would no longer drop the ice in fact it just made a big block of ice. I would defiantly recommend this product. In fact I will be purchasing another one this coming weekend.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 11/17/2013
Best purchase ever!
Customer Avatar
NPKyle
Alexandria, IN
We have had ours at least three years and use it continuously! We are purchasing another one as back-up, just in case this one eventually gives out. We purchased another brand once, and it only lasted about a year--->AND made ice very slowly. This one is fast!! Love, love love it!
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: NORTHWEST NEW JERSEY
State: NJ
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
VERY HEAVY
Date:05/13/2013
PROS- Great soft ice cubes on medium size setting
CONS- Very heavy- big and bulky and won't fit under most household cabinets- Our regular refridgerator ice machine was broke so insead of fixing that one we bought this one, it took well over 7 hours to fill one refridgerator icemaker container. It is a bit noisy but that was okay for me because I wasn't standing by it the whole time.
NOTE: I took it back but if it had kept the ice cubes cold while they were in the machine I probably would have kept it because I liked the ice cubes. Even then I would have to buy a rolling cart.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 4 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Texas
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Exactly what we needed
Date:06/02/2012
Pros: produces a lot of ice, will pay for itself, seems very well built
Cons: none!
I was looking for something to take with us when we went camping to supplement the ice chest and provide clean ice for drinks. This is literally an ice making machine, kept up with what we needed to top off the ice chest and we always had ice ready for drinks. It won't take long for it to pay for itself. As long as you don't expect it to fill your ice chest, only top it off as needed, you will be more than happy with it. I kept it on small, didn't see much difference in size on other settings, but it was much faster on small. It does take a few cycles to get the ice up to the correct size, but when it is dumping every seven to eight minutes you don't have to wait long. All in all I am VERY happy with this purchase.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 5 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Kaukauna, WI
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Date:03/23/2011
Pros: makes ice fast, easy clean up
Cons: the machine is a little big
Works great and makes ice fast! We use this a lot when we have guests over (holidays, birthday parties, Packer parties, etc) and also, we go camping a lot in the summer time and its used non stop. I got my money out of this already! I wish the machine was a little smaller.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 03/27/2011
Would like more description
Customer Avatar
MRSJB
Va. Beach, Va.
It would be great if you could put the size of an item in the description - even a little of how it works. Thanks
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 6 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Langston, Alabama
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Less than five times per year
EASY*GREAT VALUE*WORTH EVERY $
Date:04/05/2011
Did a lot of research on home ice machines and this one had all the items I needed. Unit is stainless steel and makes ice so fast I could not believe it. This ice maker also did not have the plastic taste that other reviewers had with other ice machines. I filled it with water and we started using the ice right away. Ice also lasted longer than store bought ice, and kept the drinks colder. Pay the extra dollars for this brand name you won't be disappointed!
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 7 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: mo-kan
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a month
Handy!
Date:05/09/2011
Pros: easy to use, can use tap water, quiet, fast cycle
This icemaker was easy to use and makes ice in a jiffy! Just don't expect miracles to happen.....about one cycle will produce only enough ice for a big mason jar of tea.....but still, I'm thrilled with it! I had been lugging bags of ice from town (which is MILES away) for the past several years.....and everything that encompasses is a pain.....coolers for the truck when it's hot out (so you can make it home with a little bit of ice not melted in the hot sun)......and the freezer space that bags of ice consume.....any way......NO MORE!!!!! We live in a place where the water is very hard, so just to be on the safe side, I am using distilled water to make ice.....but that was my choice, not because of manufacturers recommendations, I just didn't want to have to chuck the thing in the trash if it clogged up with mineral deposits. Overall I'm very pleased with the value, operation, look, and quality of this ice maker!
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 8 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Marlow,OK
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Great icemaker
Date:04/05/2011
I needed an icemaker to leave at our lake home as we winterize in the winter and icemaker on refrigerator froze and busted. This is great to take in travel trailer also. Just fill it with water and it dumps ice every 7 minutes. Bag and put in the freezer. Everyone has a fit over it when they come to my house.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 9 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Utah
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once every two weeks
It makes ice super fast
Date:04/25/2011
Pros: fast and efficient
Cons: big
This little ice maker works great. I couldn't believe how fast it makes ice. The ice tastes great. It does not store the ice, which I though it would, but that's my misconception. I didn't give it an excellent rating only because it is quite big and takes up a lot of room. But overall, a great product.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 10 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Oak creek
State: WI
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Great item
Date:03/02/2013
Had ours for two years. The plug broke, kohls exchanged it without a problem. Very conscientious about their products and customer satisfaction. You GO KOHLS!!! Thanks from a family of cardholders. :-) Smile smile smile!!!
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 11 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Maryland
Age: 45-54
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Bulky Machine/Makes Ice quickly
Date:12/21/2011
It makes ice quickly, but the whole process takes a while. You must put water in, wait for it to make ice, be there within few minutes after making ice, because machine will not keep ice frozen. Ice is kind of soft, so need to use immediately or put in a freezer. Machine is bulky, so you want to put in a place it can stay for while. I was frustrated after using it three times, so I put it back in box in corner and sort of forgot about it until now. I wish I had returned it back in July 2011 right after purchasing it. Lesson Learned, read reviews twice before purchasing on-line.
-1point
0of 1liked this review
Review 12 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: NC
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Very affordable and easy to use and handle.
Date:07/14/2011
Pros: affordable and compact and light.
Cons: none
In the summer we use alot of ice and our icemaker wasn't keeping up and we had to go buy a bag of ice some days especially if we had company. This Magic Chef Ice Maker is just the ticket. It's small enough to set on the counter and quiet too. My husband and granddaughter loves it. As do I. We purchased this Ice Maker for ourselves for our anniversay. It's amazing how much ice the Ice Maker makes on just a galleon of water. I love the fact that it doesn't have to be hooked up to any water source so you can set it anywhere. Just plug it in and in a matter of minutes ice cubes start dropping. I would recommend this product. Did I mention it is very affordable and light enough for me to even lift if I needed too.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 13 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Date:05/13/2011
Cons: ice does not stay for long periods of time.
Product does exactly as described. Ice cubes melt a little too fast for me.
But if you scoop them out and freeze them they are great!!
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 14 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: center moriches
State: NY
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
well worth it
Date:01/31/2014
this machine is so quick I cant put water in it fast enough
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 15 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: NJ
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Ice maker-counter top
Date:06/25/2012
It works OK once it gets started. The first couple of rounds of ice are smaller and very wet. Once it gets going it's great. It does not store the ice so you will have to monitor it and empty the ice compartment every so often, but it has not tied me to my kitchen to wait on it. I check it about every hour or so and empty it then. It fills my ice keeper in about 6 hours. It does not make enough to fill a cooler, but when having a party it makes enough to help out the ice maker in the frig.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 16 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Columbus
State: OH
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
I LOVE this ice maker!
Date:12/04/2013
Pros: density of ice cubes is soft
Cons: a little noisy
It's kind of big and kind of noisy but the ice it produces is perfectly soft enough to eat and not hurt your teeth. It produces ice rather quickly and can be running all day if need be. It has nice sensors to let you know when the ice bucket is full and when it is low on water. I also like the fact that there are three different ice cube sizes available. Highly recommend this ice maker!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 17 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Dothan Alabama
Great Machine
Date:04/02/2011
It will keep your cooler full of ice. I start out with a couple of bags that I have previously made, fill the cooler with it and this ice maker will keep up with your needs. It's fast and quiet. Very happy with this purchase.
0points
1of 2liked this review
Review 18 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Bensalem, PA
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Got Ice?
Date:06/06/2011
What a cool ice maker! I never have room in my freezer to make or store ice, and this is the perfect appliance to end that problem. The ice constantly replenishes itself and really comes in handy at parties or small gatherings. The fact that you don't need any water hook-ups is amazing, and since it's portable you can move or take it wherever you want. You only need an electrical outlet and a pitcher of water and in no time it starts to produce ice.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 19 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Mead, CO
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a week
great idea
Date:07/19/2011
The concept is great and it says it can make 30 lbs of ice in 24 hours, which it probably can. BUT, you have to empty the ice container every couple of hours and fill up the water. So, unless you want to stay up all night....it won't happen. If you don't have an ice maker, this would be great. But to use it for additional ice is very time consuming and the ice is wet so it sticks together. A novel idea but needs a little more work.
-1point
0of 1liked this review
Review 20 for Magic Chef Portable Ice Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Charlotte, NC
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Perfect Product
Date:07/19/2011
We purchased this small portable ice maker when our large ice maker needed repairs more costly than we wanted to spend. This Magic Chef portable unit turned out to be a perfect purchase. It makes great sized ice cubes very quickly and makes a good quantity, large enough for our daily needs. We've only had it for 2 weeks now so I can't speak for the longevity but I can say that we're not sorry to have made this purchasing decision.
0points
0of 0liked this review
1 2 3 next>>