Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Oster Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker

Give yourself a whole new way to create perfect rice. How? This handy rice cooker. In a contemporary design that can go straight from your counter to your tabletop.
Average Customer Rating:
4.081 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (37 reviews)
5 stars
22
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
4
1 star
3
28 out of 36(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
11 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer Reviews for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Review 1 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
yeah!
Date:10/15/2012
Pros: fast, easy, light weight
This was my 1st time using a rice cooker and I'm in love! I cooked a full pot of rice and steamed some onions and fresh green beans at the same time. The rice was done in a very short time and the onions and beans were perfectly steamed. I saw some reviews on the cooker not being accurate with the cup sizes. You have to use the cup they provide you with, not a regular measuring cup.
+3points
3of 3liked this review
Review 2 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
perfect rice
Date:10/04/2010
I have only used this rice cooker once so far and it made perfect rice! I made about 4 cups of rice.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 11/25/2010
Overflow mess, but it works
Customer Avatar
bkcooker
Cleveland, OH
Wasn't too thrilled with this product. The rice was cooked perfectly, but there still was a bit of burned rice on the bottom both times I used it. The second time I cooked a little more rice - 4 cups - and it spattered a pretty large mess in my kitchen - all over the wall and other items on the counter. I'm returning it to try another brand. But it does work and it's a cute little appliance... perhaps if the lid was a little heavier so it didn't lift up...
+1point
1of 1liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Age: 45-54
Makes cooking rice & grains so easy!
Date:04/25/2012
I've used this a few times so far and it's been great! Just add the rice or grain and water or broth, turn it on & that's it! I've cooked quinoa & wheatberries and will be cooking all my grains & rices. Can't beat the price either!
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Review 4 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Elburn, IL
State: IL
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!
Date:12/18/2012
Pros: easy to use, easy to clean, steaming option, easy to store
This is my 1st rice cooker & I wonder why I didn't have it sooner. Love it!! I can make a meal while not having to pay attention or watch a timer. Easy to use, easy to clean. I did read all the instructions first & haven't had a single problem. The steamer is a great option as well. Easy to use when making with rice or just to steam veggies alone. I already gave as a gift to 2 other people.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 5 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Ft Smith
State: AR
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
This product makes perfect rice and easy to use!
Date:01/09/2013
Perfect rice, simple to use, easy clean up, and inexpensive. Consumer perfect!
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 6 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Richmond,Ky.
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Rice Cooker review
Date:03/30/2011
Pros: use less rice
Cons: only comes in red
I bought this for a gift for my son and his wife. At first like most people he did not read the instructions. So first batch was horrible. Then he read the instructions and found out he added to much raw grain rice instead of the usual 1 cup rice to 2 cups of water he only needed 3/4 of a cup of rice. Now the rice turns out perfect every time. They love it. Just the right size for there small family. Not alot of waste.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 7 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Pittsburgh,PA
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Simply superb
Date:12/07/2010
Pros: good quality product
I shop quite a lot at kohls,bought this rice cooker for a great deal as always and this little one does a great job.It doesnt spill any water,cooks food very good and also cleaning is a breeze.Overall a great product.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 8 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Everett WA
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Integrity of hardware not so great
Date:04/25/2011
For an Oster product, I was disappointed in the integrity of the hardware. Plastic pieces are very flimsy. Guess Oster doesn't make things like they used to. Also, instructions are very poor; portions it goes up to would never even fit in the steamer. I should have gotten a larger model and checked in out in person before purchasing.
N
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 9 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: New Prague
State: MN
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Cute Rice Cooker
Date:03/24/2013
Love the color of my new Oster Rice Cooker! The Bright Red finish looks great on my counter, Plus it cooks rice perfectly every time! Haven't used the steamer basket yet, but it is a really nice feature!
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 10 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: green valley, az
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Date:03/27/2011
I had no problem receiving the shipped Oster 6-cup rice cooker. Shipment was great. I wish that I'd done a little more research about this product, though. The machine does all that it says it will, but not very well. The vegetables steam well, but the cooked rice quality isn't up to par. In the 9 times that we've used it, the rice (jasmine or basmati) has ended up too dry or too mushy. I've also adjusted the water amount to try to get a soft, slightly sticky consistency. I guess it takes a lot of tries to get it right. I tried using a vegetable stock mixed with water which caused the rice to burn. When I cook rice on the stovetop, I watch it closely. I figured that this auto unit would eliminate this, but not so. I think that I'll go back to the stovetop.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 11 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Paris, TX
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a month
All around great product
Date:01/04/2012
For anyone that eat a lot of rice, like I, this is a wonderful product. The best feature is it goes from cook mode to warm after the water is cooked out. Just don't leave it too long on the warm mode...you will scorch your rice.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 12 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Texas
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a week
This is a great rice cooker
Date:06/22/2012
Pros: cooks rice easily, easy to use, low price
This is a wonderfull rice cooker for a very reasonable price. We love to have rice with our meals but didn't fix rice too often because it was a hassle to wait for the water to boil, time it, etc. We have rice almost every day now and I can't believe how easy it is to use this cooker. I can't believe I waited this long to try a rice maker. This unit works wonderfully and makes perfect rice every time I use it. I would highly recommend it - especially at the low price it sells for.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 13 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Sonoma, CA
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Great Deal
Date:07/09/2012
Pros: love the color
I love my new rice cooker, it works great! It seemed like there was confusion in the comments that I read about the volume it will make. It makes 6 cups of cooked rice, you can't put 6 cups of uncooked rice in it or you'll have a big mess on your hands, besides I don't think it would hold all the liquid & rice to do that! Cooks rice perfect & I like the "keep warm" feature. If I'm going to let the cooked rice sit a bit I add alitte more liquid at the start of cooking. Keeps rice from getting too sticky.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 14 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Columbus
State: IN
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Date:03/07/2013
the button to turn on the cooker is so loose that have to press atleat 10 times before it turns on
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 15 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: LA
State: CA
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a week
Misleading
Date:05/31/2013
This came and it was a 6 cup, but printed on the side of the package it says...6 cups based on a 5.3 ounce cup....what the heck? Last I checked a cup is a cup and that is 8 ounces
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 16 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: CA
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Only around holidays
Store visits: Only around holidays
Misrepresented
Date:12/18/2011
Cons: falsely andvertised, 3 cup not 10 cup
The listing shows this as a 10 cup rice cooker, but it shows up in your cart as a 6 cup rice cooker. Upon receipt, I noticed the box said it is a 6 cup cooker based on a 5.33 ounce cup. We all learn in school that a cup is 8 ounces. The bowl itself is marked as a 3 cup capacity, so not sure where this 5.33 ounce cup came from. There is a huge difference between 10 cup and 3 cup.
-1point
0of 1liked this review
Review 17 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Sarasota, FL
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a week
Love it!
Date:10/31/2011
Pros: easy to use, easy to clean
Cons: vague directions
This is my first rice cooker and I'm really enjoying using it. My only issue is that the directions are too vague. There is nothing about salt and no recipies. I like it so much, I'm going to buy one for my mother for Christmas!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 18 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: MI
Age: 45-54
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Mixed Feelings
Date:01/03/2012
Pros: good vegetable steamer
Cons: metal basket discolored after first use
I purchased this rice cooker as a gift for my husband. The first time we used it, the rice cooked quickly. The second time, it took much longer for the water to heat up and for the rice to cook. As a steamer, it's great. One drawback is that the metal basket becomes discolored after going through the dishwasher even though it's supposely dishwasher safe, and now looks worn out .
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 19 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: northern NH
State: NH
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Best Rice Cooker
Date:03/01/2013
I had to replace my rice cooker that I've had for many years. I tried another rice cooker/steamer and it took about 3 times the length of time to cook rice. I love this rice cooker. It's the best. Cooks and turns off automatically. Would highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 20 for Oster 10-Cup Rice Cooker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Wilmington DE
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Excellent & Bargain
Date:02/16/2011
I purchased the small version of this steamer for my mom for Christmas & they love it. Making dinner with her regularly I have enjoyed the ease of use with this and am going to buy myself one now!
0points
0of 0liked this review
1 2 next>>