Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kohl's.

Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes

Conquer the countryside in these men's Avia hiking boots. In brown.
Average Customer Rating:
4.134 out of 5
4.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (67 reviews)
5 stars
40
4 stars
13
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
7
54 out of 65(83%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Review 1 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits: 
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Customer Avatar
Location: Kingsport, TN
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
These are the best shoes
Date:11/29/2010
Pros: price and fit
Cons: none
These are the best shoes (for my feet) that I have found. I usually get them at the store and dont purchase them online. The store usually has them on sale, so get them on sale. They are usually just over half of the list price at the store, so wait for a sale. I usually keep an extra pair of them as spare, and I have been wearing this style of shoe for over a year. I'm pretty hard on them, but they do last very well. Since they are not too expensive, I dont mind to replace them very often. I have probably purchased 10-12 pairs.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 2 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
falling apart after only 2 months
Date:02/20/2012
I bought a black pair of these in the spring and loved them....thought I would get a brown pair so I could have 2, the seams are coming apart.
I still wear my black ones and they are starting to show some wear after 10 months, these ones are splitting open only after 60 days.
I loved my black ones but I would not order the brown ones again.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 3 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits: 
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Customer Avatar
Location: Tallahassee, FL
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Great hiking shoe
Date:04/01/2011
I really like this hiking shoe.
Though finding shoes/sneakers that fit properly on my left foot has been a source of aggravation for many years, the moment I put these on the level of comfort was better than almost any other hiker I have owned.
I found the 10 medium fit very well on my 9 1/12 wide foot so these are not narrow width shoes.
I have tried and discarded hiking shoes from many of the more famous makers, but these Avia Hikers are definitely keepers; regardless of the price.
I'm glad Kohls carries them and hope to buy another pair when these give out.
Thanks, Kohls!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 4 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Comfortable and dependable.
Date:05/26/2012
Pros: great design
Cons: none
Second pair of these. We walk almost everyday 30-45 minutes. Most shoes I have bought including including well known brands, last a little over a year. The last pair of these Avia's lasted over two years, and they are still intact and just show sole wear. Just thought it was time to retire them, and when I saw the same pair at an awesome price, decided to go around again. I have a new pair of quality brand shoes that were to replace my old Avia's when the time came, but I guess they'll just have to wait a couple more years. :)
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 5 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Bend, OR
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Dang not again
Date:11/11/2011
Pros: comfort, style, weight
Cons: nylon straps, metal eyelets cut laces
Hay the shoe's fit and feel great. But the first pair I still have but the little nylon straps at the top tore in half. So I decided to get another pair. And I have only had this pair less than 2 months and have not used them on any trails yet. First the laces outer covering came apart again. And this last weekend while climbing on a crane the left shoe left side seam came unstitched. The right shoe is doing good so far. I believe with a couple of changes there hiking shoes would be great.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 6 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fits: 
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Customer Avatar
Good shoe, bad laces
Date:03/25/2011
Pros: great price
Cons: lousy laces
OK, this sounds petty because the shoes themselves are great so far and the price was right. What disappointed me were the laces. They started falling apart the second or third time I tied them. I happened to be in a Kohl's that week and mentioned it and she said they don't sell laces or she'd replace them and she offered to exchange the whole pair of shoes. I had already spent a week breaking these in so it wasn't worth the hassle to start over. I just bought new laces.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 7 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits: 
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Runs: 
Small
Large
Customer Avatar
Location: Knoxville, TN
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Once a month
Very good value
Date:06/26/2011
I'm a trail jogger and tend to go through shoes quickly. The reason I selected the 6079 was due to the value and construction of the shoe. After jogging Alum Cave trail as well as Rainbow Falls trails in GSMNP (~20+miles) the shoes show no significant signs of wear and more importantly no blisters on my feet! The toes run a bit large, which is good for a wider foot. Over all the shoe is comfy all day and breaths well. Grip is also good
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 8 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Billings, MT
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
The sizing was inaccurate
Date:03/11/2013
We ordered these shoes twice because the first pair, size 10 1/2 were too small. The second pair, size 11, were also too small. I have now paid postage for two pairs of shoes that didn't work out. We will buy another brand. I really can't comment on the quality or value since the product didn't work out. We liked the style of the shoe which was the primary reason for the purchase. Try them on in the store, not mail order.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 9 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits: 
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Customer Avatar
Location: oregon
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Great shoes
Date:09/10/2011
Pros: great price great comfort and built sturdy
Cons: none
I purchased these about 2 years ago and they are still in good shape. I am getting a new pair only because I have worn them every day for 2 years and the padding is a little bit worn, which is normal. I am getting this same exact shoe as before because they are great shoes and still the best deal price wise. 2 years old with still no problems with the constructions or comfort is pretty good I'd say.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 10 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fits: 
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Customer Avatar
Location: Missouri
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a week
Poor quality
Date:08/25/2011
Pros: apperance
Cons: quality, comfort
Bought a pair of these three months ago thinking they would be good for my work. Shortly after wearing them, my feet started to hurt and have been hurting since. The soles have wore down and the stitching is falling apart. Bought a pair of Columbia shoes and after the first day, the majority of my foot pain has gone away. Do not waste your money on these shoes, they are poor quality and comfort.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 11 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fits: 
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Customer Avatar
Location: Michigan
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Once a month
Poor Quality
Date:03/10/2011
I've had these shoes for about a year; never hiked in them. Light everyday use - never wet, in mud, etc. I've only work for shopping, short walks, casual days at work, etc. The black plastic covering at the front of each shoe, over the toes, has separated away where it wraps around near each sole. The rest of the shoes are wearing perfectly...but they're worthless now because of this problem...
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 12 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Orlando, FL
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
Avia Hiking Shoes
Date:11/29/2011
Living in Florida my son was used to wearing sandals. With his activity picking up and cooler weather approaching he needed some tennis shoes. He didn't like regular looking tennis or athlete shoes but really like the appearance of these shoes.
My son says these shoes have great support and cushioning. He is very satisfied with the shoes.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 13 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Syracuse
State: NY
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Once a month
Outstanding product
Date:04/19/2013
Pros: great design, comfortable, look great
Cons: none
I had one pair of these that I purchased in the store, but there weren't any more there, so I ordered two more on-line. These are very comfortable, and a great value. I previously had only purchased another brand, but once I tried these, I found them even better than my previous brand. I will definitely buy more of these.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 14 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Douglasville, GA
Age: 45-54
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: Once a month
great shoes
Date:05/21/2012
I have been wearing a pair of these for work for a couple of years. They are among the most comfortable shoes I've ever worn. I'm on my feet quite a bit and these shoes are wonderful. I like them so much, I bought 4 more pairs so it will be many years before I'll have to try anything else for work.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 15 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Lexington, MA
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Comfortable shoe; fits well
Date:04/03/2012
Bought a pair for work outdoors, but found myself wearing them everywhere so bought a second pair. They have replaced the ratty running shoes I used to wear for most everyday events as well as the boots I used to wear for outdoor work. They are two months old and holding up well so far.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 16 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits: 
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Runs: 
Small
Large
Customer Avatar
Location: Blue Grass KY
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Less than five times per year
These are great shoes!
Date:02/04/2011
These shoes fit well if you have a man's typically wider foot. Nike shoes tend to be too narrow for most men and you are forced to buy up a size. Not so with these, they fit true to size in width and length. They are very comfortable and well made and I highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 17 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fits: 
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Customer Avatar
Location: Deerfield, WI
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
If you like hard soles this shoe is for you
Date:04/20/2011
I purchased these shoes online most likely will not being doing that again when it comes to buying shoes. If my dog would have not eaten the shoe box they came in I would have returned them. The soles are hard and thin and zero arch support very uncomfortable shoe.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 18 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits: 
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Runs: 
Small
Large
Customer Avatar
Location: Way upstate New York
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Great value
Date:08/22/2011
I purchased these for my son. He said they were very comfortable right out of the box. He's not a sneaker guy, but needed comfy shoes for everyday wear. These fit the bill. They were on sale, which was great for me, so Kohl's has two very satisfied customers.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 19 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Succasunna
State: NJ
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Once a month
Shoe feels like the sole is not as wide as my foot
Date:05/01/2013
Do not buy this shoe. . I have a narrow foot and this shoe make me feel like I am standing on a platform that is not as wide as my foot, a very disconcerting feeling fora walking shoe.
I am returning this shoe.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 20 for Avia 6079 Hiking Shoes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fits: 
Uncomfortable
Comfortable
Customer Avatar
I should have bought 2 pairs!
Date:04/18/2011
I got these shoes for my husband and not only does he like them, he loves them. The price was right so I thought, why not. They are true to fit, VERY comfortable, durable, and nice looking. I should have bought 2 pairs.
0points
0of 0liked this review
1 2 3 next>>