Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

CHI CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener

CHI brings the power of professional styling to your home. Whether you're planning to go straight or curly, the one-inch plates on the CHI Air Classic ceramic straightener make it easy to customize your look.
Average Customer Rating:
4.407 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (54 reviews)
5 stars
38
4 stars
8
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 star
4
47 out of 54(87%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer Reviews for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Review 1 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Harrisburg, Pa
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
When I recived the Chi it did not work.
Date:08/15/2011
I purchased this item for my daughters birthday. I did receive the item on time which was a huge bonus. My daughter opened it and was very excited to use it. I have had the same Chi going on two years and love it. Her Chi turned on but never warmed up. I am very disappointed because I ordered this item online to save time. I called customer service and she said I could return it to the store and my store did have them. Again I ordered the product online to avoid the hassle. This is the first time I have ever had any issues with a purchase not working. I will still continue to order online from Kohls and shop in the store. They do have great pricing and customer service. This was a very rare experience.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 2 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Dayton, OH
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Love, Love, Love this product!
Date:11/01/2011
Pros: heats quickly, great price, adjustable temperature, very long cord
Cons: takes a while to cool down
I've owned this product for about 2 months and I use it on a regular basis. I have very thick, and wavy hair. The CHI ceramic straightner irons my hair with one pass. The ceramic iron leaves my hair silky and frizz free! I can go two days without a shampoo and my hair remains straight. The CHI's temperature can go as hight as 410 degrees, so I recommend a heat protection serum prior to use. The CHI is also very easy to clean.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Review 3 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: North Central Texas
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
My daughter loves it!
Date:12/30/2011
Pros: works well
I bought this for my 15-year-old daughter for Christmas. She has very thick, long hair that is not so much curly as it is "fluffy" and difficult to style. She has had 3 other straighteners and none have ever worked as well as she would have liked. I thought the Chi was a bit pricy, but decided we'd give it a shot. It has been everything she hoped and more. It works well and I hope it stands the test of time because she absolutely loves it! I have curly hair and have borrowed it occasionally and have been pleased with it, too.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 4 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: VA
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once every two weeks
The Best Flat Iron on the Market
Date:08/12/2011
I have very curly (course hair) and this iron makes my hair as smooth and flowy as silk. I never thought it was possible to achieve straight hair like this with any flat iron. I bought my Chi about 2 years ago. I can't complain one bit about it. It's definitely worth the money! I've wasted a lot of money on cheap irons in the past. If you've never owned a Chi...try it one time, and I promise you will be hooked! You can even do big barrel curls with this iron. Just take a section of the hair iron down once, then come back about 3/4 of the way up, clamp down, twist your wrist and pull down slowly. This is my favorite style!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 5 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: CT
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Once a month
Be careful with the heat settings
Date:06/07/2011
I like this iron a lot now but I made 1 big mistake the first time I used it.
It gets too hot on the highest setting .
The ends of my hair got too hot and are now looking fried in one place.
If you keep the heat at about 3/4 of the wheel, that's hot enough to leave your hair silky, shiny and straightened.
There is no way to know what the temp is. Someone said 450 degrees but I don't know that for sure.
I would recommend it with that one warning.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 6 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: st.paul, mn
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Excellent for Course thick curly Ethnic Hair
Date:12/20/2011
Pros: lighweight, compact, multiple temperature settings, long cord, ceramic plates (helps prevent frizz)
Cons: wish it came with a carrying cooling bag
I am a Cuban and Black and have been natural now for 5 years (for all my non brown women I haven't used chemicals to straighten my hair). I have very thick course spiral curls (I'd say type 4) and Even after blow drying my hair I need a flat iron to straighten my hair. It lays my hair so beautifully. I am recommending this for all my Black and Hispanic sisters :-) with the beautiful Fro's.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 7 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Carmi, IL
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Great flatiron with nice features.
Date:12/09/2011
This is a great flatiron. The temperature control being separate from the on off switch allows you to leave the setting in the same place all the time. Having the velcro fasteners on the cord is a great help when storing it. And of course the iron works great! The only drawback is it didn't come with a travel case like some of their other colors do.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 8 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Detroit, MI
Age: 35-44
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Great Straightener
Date:07/31/2011
I have curly 80's hair. In the past I have used rollers to smooth the crazyness. I have also used other straigteners and I've been happy. I bought this one for my daughter and I use it all the time. I used to spend about an hour straightening my hair with others and sometimes by the end of the day my hair would be all over the place again. I can straighten my hair in about ten minutes with this iron and it stays straight all day, and it's still straight in the morning. When my daughter spends the night away from we actually joke around about who gets to keep it. A+ product.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 9 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Manville, NJ
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a week
Best Straightener Out There!
Date:10/31/2011
Pros: quick heat up great results
I never purchase any other brand straightener. Chi has been my number one for years...
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 10 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a week
Excellent product, even better price!
Date:04/15/2011
This customer did not provide a text review.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 11 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Deep south
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Smooth, shiny hair!
Date:12/21/2011
After years of using other brands of flat irons, I always wondered if the pricey Chi was all hype or if it truly was worth the huge price. As I got tired of having to replace flat irons every few months, I did a bit of research and finally bit the bullet and made the investment in the Chi - and so far I'm very happy. Since my hair is very fine, I was a little concerned about such high heat - but this model has adjustable heat control! So far, even without using any kind of special conditioner, my hair is extremely silky and shiny!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 12 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Star, ID
State: ID
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Will never buy another flat iron!
Date:11/16/2012
My Hot Tools flat iron of about 8 years finally broke and I really wanted to replace it with a Chi but didn't want to spend the money. I bought 2 cheaper brands and was very disappointed before I decided to spend the extra money. Got a great deal at Kohls and I LOVE the flat iron! Will never buy another brand again. My only complaint is the poor design of the heat dial. I battled turning the heat down during styling in the beginning but now I know how to hold the flat iron so I don't touch it. Kind of annoying.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 13 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: omaha, ne
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a week
EXCELLENT HAIR PRODUCT
Date:07/01/2012
I'm hispanic with very thick frizzy hair, i spent a lot of money buying cheap flat irons that only burned my hair until I found CHI, what an amazing hair product, it leaves my hair soooo silky even without using a conditioner, even though it's only 1" flat iron its very fast. I am happy my sister in law recommended this product to me. Thanks Kohls for carrying such great brands
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 14 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: East Greenville
State: PA
Age: 35-44
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: Once a month
Seems cheaply made
Date:02/09/2013
I purchased this for my daughter for Christmas. We now have 2 chi's. The first Chi has a nice digital temperature setting. This Chi does not seem to be the same quality. I just purchased an Infinity, Pro Conair,for myself and I love it. It does a great job and seems like a better styling tool. It is heavier but doesn't seem cheap like the Chi.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 15 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Upper Michigan
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
I Love this straightener!
Date:03/26/2011
I had always heard that this was the straightener to buy, but was hesitant to spend the money. My hair has a mind of its own and doesn't like to curl at all. Even though it is really straight, it sometimes isn't sleek. This straightener not only smoothed out my hair, it will actually curl it and it stays somewhat curly! I love it!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 16 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Waterford, Ct
Fantastic product!! Fantastic Value
Date:12/05/2011
Pros: great value
We have been shopping at Kohls Stores and Kohls.Com for years. Have alway found them to be reliable and always offering great value for your money. Our recent purchase of the ChiAir flat iron is a Christmas present for one of our grandchildren. We will be making other purchases at Kohls for Christmas.
Tony and Pinky
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 17 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Fremont
State: OH
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Poor quality for the price.
Date:12/04/2012
I have had a CHI flat iron in the past and loved it. I bought this one thinking I was going to get the same quality, especially since the price was so high. This flat iron does not compare at all to my other CHI. I would not recommend this to anyone. Save your money and save for a GHD
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 18 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Tennessee
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
I was surprised I thought chi was better quality.
Date:12/29/2011
I have thick long hair and this chi did not work well enough for me, the grab on my hair was not strong. I set the temperature the highest it would go and it still was not hot enough, I don't want it to burn my hair of course, but it still wasn't hot enough at all.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 19 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Crowley, TX
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a month
LOVE my CHI
Date:12/07/2011
Bought this as a replacement for my CHI...which was dropped by my hubby. I really wanted the pink one, but am just happy to have one that doesn't pull my hair anymore!! A definite must, as I have been straightening my overly curly hair for about 15 years now!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 20 for CHI Air Classic 1-in. Ceramic Straightener
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Arkansas
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Great product!
Date:02/24/2012
Pros: greatest value i shopped around
I love my new Chi!!! I was nervous switching to the newer style but have been very happy! The adjustable temp is great for days I'm just touching up and don't need the full heat! My hair is a lot less staticky than it was before. Highly recommend it!
0points
0of 0liked this review
1 2 3 next>>