Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kohl's.

Nuwave Mini Infrared Oven

This Nuwave Mini infrared oven is the wave of the future. The space-saving countertop appliance broils grills roasts bakes steams and more. Easily prepare all your favorite meals in this Nuwave Mini infrared oven.
Average Customer Rating:
3.9 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (10 reviews)
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
7 out of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Nuwave Mini Infrared Oven
Review 1 for Nuwave Mini Infrared Oven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Benton, Arkansas
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
I like my mini nuwave oven.
Date:04/25/2011
It is small, but the larger size was too big for me. I only cook single meals so it is just right for me. I have needed to experiment with the time. I did a 2# roast and it was cooked just fine. When I cook steak, I put the potatoes on for 12 minutes, then turn the potatoes (red quartered) and put the steak on for 7, turn steak and cook for another 7 minutes, and it all turns out the same time. Of course it is a small steak and only 4 red potatoes quartered. I like the way it cooks bread sticks. I love the way it cooks thin sliced carrots. I can have a meat/potato/veggie meal in minutes with very easy clean up, no prewarming up the oven or heating up the room. Next I want to learn how to dehydrate veggies.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 2 for Nuwave Mini Infrared Oven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Little Rock, Arkansas
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Once a month
Recommend for quick small meals that taste great.
Date:04/10/2011
The mini is very small, but the regular size was way too big. I am single and it is great for my meals, or two people who eat moderately . I quarter new red potatoes and cook with a steak and it is delicious! I like the recipie book they enclosed a lot. Chicken breast in bread crumbs is the best. It does take study to learn to cook in it.. cook slowest things first, open (easy to do!) turn food, add next ingredients..tin foil slows the cooking time. I plan on taking it camping in my small camper. I love the no reheat and no defrost.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 3 for Nuwave Mini Infrared Oven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: St Petersburg, FL
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Only around holidays
Good buy!
Date:08/12/2011
Everything I have cooked in the Mini NuWave has come out delicous, juicy and full of flavor. I have cooked steaks, chicken breast, hamburgers and pork chops. The pork chop was right out of the freezer to the NuWave. It was the best juicy pork chop I have ever tasted. I do recommend this product. At first I was skeptical because it was only 800 watts for the Mini NuWave. But even though it may take a few more minutes it is a great product to have for a person living alone.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 4 for Nuwave Mini Infrared Oven
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Wish I had purchased the BIG one!!!
Date:05/21/2011
Food taste great! Meat is very moist. Doesn't do burgers well though. It takes longer to cook than the product description states. My BIGGEST complaint is that I love it so much that i wish I would have purchased the large one!!!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 5 for Nuwave Mini Infrared Oven
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: dallas tx
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
This is not what I expected
Date:04/01/2011
The first thing that I cooked was a small strip steak and it was not good at all
and didn't brown would have taken it back if I had the box that it came in.
Just not what I expected but that is how we learn. So be it.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 6 for Nuwave Mini Infrared Oven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: NJ
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Date:04/20/2011
This was a gift and the recipient is quite pleased and happy with the item. This is the mini version as it is for one person. Seems to work well.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 7 for Nuwave Mini Infrared Oven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Southeast Texas
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Only around holidays
Store visits: Only around holidays
"LOVE" my NUWAVE MINI !
Date:06/10/2011
It is quick and easy! I love being able to cook frozen stuff in it! I love how you can warm-up you clod pizza in it! I just LOVE it!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 8 for Nuwave Mini Infrared Oven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Orinda, CA
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Love it!
Date:07/13/2011
Pros: works quietly and efficiently, no heat/smoke source, easy clean-up
Cons: none
I have a very small kitchen and live alone. I purchased the large NuWave in early 2009, and while I love it, I had to store it in my closet -- very inconvenient to use. I found out about the Mini recently, so purchased it. It works just a well as the Pro, but need to take into account that it is "mini" and does not have the Pro power. It takes a little longer to cook things, but the end result is still wonderful!! The Mini is so handy, it's small enough to leave on my counter without taking valuable space. It cleans easily. I don't put this one in the dishwasher. While it is dishwasher safe, I think it's probably better not to. How hard can it be to wash by hand! I only wish it had a second, higher rack to get meat closer to the heat source. I put a little oven-safe dish under the rack when I want it raised, and it works just fine that way. Someone noted that the clips don't work well, and I noticed the Chef who does the little online demonstration makes a big point of locking the clips. However, the instructions come with the warning "Do not lock clips while using". Rather confusing. Knowing that the Pro worked without locking I use the Mini without locking, too.
No regrets with this purchase. I will always have a NuWave oven in my life!!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 9 for Nuwave Mini Infrared Oven
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Los Angeles County, CA
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
DISAPPOINTED
Date:06/19/2011
Pros: compact
Cons: flimsy wire stand for dome, heating housing gets dirty, heating house separates from dome, flimsy dome base clips, no color choices, drip pan too shallow, recipe manual inaccurate
The regular size NuWave is probably great, and the Mini was advertised as doing everything the bigger ones did. I don't have a lot of counter space and invested in the Mini. But, the freezer-to-oven time in the instructions took longer in reality so I didn't save time or power energy. Whole chicken in cooking instructions took longer in reality and did not cook at the bone even by turning halfway through cooking as recommended. Drip pan juices overflowed and was a mess to cleanup. Heating element housing got splatter juices burned on and was near impossible to clean. Had to use foil over the foods to reduce splatters but foil interfered with heat fan circulation. The dome wire stand was flimsy and the heavy heating element/dome assembly wobbled and fell off. The heating house came unhooked from the dome a couple times when lifting it off the base. The clips to fasten the dome to the base to make it portable were not secure even holding with two hands per instructions. All-in-all, the Mini was only good for warming up foods and my microwave did it better. The Mini was not efficient or sufficient for us as a couple and unless the cook chart or manual has been revised recently, we were not able to trust the cook times or recipes that came with the Mini. Sadly, we returned it and Kohl's customer service was great about it.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 10 for Nuwave Mini Infrared Oven
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Jamestown CA
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Less than five times per year
I'm glad I took a chance on a NuWave Mini
Date:07/07/2011
Pros: nice job on meats!, no mess easy clean-up, small footprint
Cons: dome handle doesn't latch securely
I recently moved to a tiny house with very limited kitchen counter space. In my search for a small appliance that could do some of the work of my bigger toaster oven and microwave, I came across the NuWave Mini. This appliance has a small footprint and is geared for singles or couples. I've only had it for a few weeks. So far I wholeheartedly recommend it for small cuts of meat, like chops or steaks - and so far the results have been wonderful. At first the gentleness of the cooking made it seem as though nothing was happening - the meat was not sizzling or smoking (or bursting into flames, as you might expect when BBQing). It is NOT a broiler. But I followed the instructions and let the oven do its thing - and have been surprised by the flavor, juiciness and tenderness of every piece of meat it has cooked. Just spray the rack and drip pan with a little non-stick spray, put the meat on the rack, put the dome in place and set the timer to the minutes indicated - and walk away. The first beep tells you it's time to flip, the second means it's ready. Everything I have cooked so far has been remarkably good - with no grease, smoke, or heating up the kitchen - and an easy cleanup afterward. I'll begin experimenting with multi-stage meals one of these days, but so far I'm just pleased with what a nice job it does on meats. Tonight I will entrust it with a belated 4th of July hamburger and see how it handles that.
Also, you can cook frozen meats - straight out of the freezer. That's a time-saver for anyone.
I've told friends how pleased I am with my little NuWave Mini. I'd recommend it for any single or couple.
0points
0of 0liked this review