Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kohl's.

Storage Bench

Keep free of clutter with this convenient storage bench. In espresso finish.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (52 reviews)
5 stars
18
4 stars
21
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
7
40 out of 52(77%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Storage Bench
Review 1 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Seattle, WA
Age: 25-34
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Perfect Bench!
Date:12/06/2010
Pros: very sturdy, beautiful finish, great price
Cons: can't think of any!
I purchased and assembled this bench last night and can't tell you how thrilled I am with it!! I have purchased a lot of furniture that has needed to be assembled and I think that this bench is the sturdiest thing I have ever put together! It is very well made - I did have one minor issue, one of the dowel holes wasn't drilled deep enough, so I just snipped a little off of the dowel and it worked just fine. When I was putting the top of it on, I did have to use a bit more muscle to get a few holes lined up, but it wasn't a big deal. I have been looking for a bench just like this for a while, soooooo happy that I found it!! I will recommend this to anyone who needs a small entryway bench!
+3points
3of 3liked this review
Review 2 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Date:11/11/2010
Nice price, but when assembling the bench, we found that none of the holes lined up and we had to drill extra holes, we had to cut the dowels to compensate for holes not being lined up correctly. In the middle of the entire assemply, whole new pieces were falling out. Took 3 hours of compensation and renevating to put the bench together and still it isnt right. Would not recomend to anyone.
+2points
3of 4liked this review
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Posted 04/07/2011
Hard to assemble
Customer Avatar
mommyj
Ohio
I agree that it was hard to assemble... the holes on our didn't line up either! it was very frustrating... we couldn't get the top part of the bench to fit onto the bottom because the silver rods wouldn't fit into the silver things we ahd to put into their pre-drilled holes. we ended up taking it back to the store.
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Posted 11/13/2010
Too much trouble
Customer Avatar
mp530
Why didn't you just return it when you discovered it wasn't going to build right??
+4points
4of 4liked this comment
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 3 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: LA, CA
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
OK
Date:04/14/2011
Ordered this item online and it arrived on a rainy day and was left outside. When opened, the wood was split on one side. Took it to my local Kohl's and did the exchange, however; the UPC code on the online item and the UPC from the same item in store didn't match. Since I was doing an even exchange, they made it work. Got it home and found a smaller split on one side, but decided to keep it and put it together anyway. The split is in the back and shouldn't affect the items durability. I didn't want to go through the hassle of returning this one as well...I like the bench, it looks really good and was a great price.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 4 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: TX
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Poorly Constructed and time consuming to assemble
Date:03/22/2011
Pros: inexpensive - but you get what you pay for!
Cons: looks inexpensive, time-consuming assembly, poorly constructed
Poorly constructed and time consuming assembly. Item was damaged in shipping which I didn't see until it was assembled. Had to take it back apart and return it to the store for a refund. Needless to say, I didn't exchange it for another one. Once assembled it was cheap looking. Thanks goodness Kohls has such exceptional service and return policy. I definitely do not recommend this item.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 5 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Cranberry Twp, PA
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Beautiful storage bench
Date:08/08/2011
I was apprehensive about getting this storage bench; I wasn't sure about the quality of the wood, the color, or the bench pad. I was pleasantly surprised when we put the bench together- it was very nice! The pieces that you assemble like like real wood- it actually looked like a nice piece of furniture!
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 6 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: kenosha, wi
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Perfect fit.
Date:12/01/2010
Pros: solid, looks great, great price
Cons: non
I love this bench, and I got it for a great price. It is very solid, and I did not have to much difficulty putting it together. I put it together by myself and it took maybe 30-45 mins. I also have the matching wall shelf and I love that too.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 7 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Don't buy!
Date:12/03/2011
This bench was not worth the money! It's wiggly once put together and half the screws don't even tighten. Also smaller than expected. Overall I would say don't buy this product the quality is VERY poor. We're are taking ours back.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 8 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Golden, CO
Age: 55-65
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: Once a week
Date:07/05/2011
Cons: baskets for storage area were not included
Love the way the bench looks and the storage areas below - but Kohl's didn't provide the baskets and had to go to 5 stores before I finally found baskets to fit the bench and the wall unit.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 08/15/2011
Baskets
Customer Avatar
Mommyxthree
New Hampshire
Could you tell me where you finally found the baskets? I am having a terrible time finding them myself! Thanks!
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: New Hampshire
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a month
Great Value for the Money
Date:08/15/2011
I purchased this product last week. It was fairly easy to put together. I did so with 4 children running around and was able to complete it in less than an hour! And that includes taking it apart once and after I realized I put the sides on backwards since I had a few distractions :) It looks great in my entryway and is sturdy. I love that it comes with the cushion. The one thing I don't like is that it doesn't come with baskets for the cubby area. Other than that, for the money paid and the ease of putting it together - I would definitely recommend this item.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 10 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Webster, NY
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Once a week
Perfect for me
Date:11/06/2011
This bench is perfect for the space I have. It went together very easily in about an hour. I had no problems and even had a few extra nuts and bolts. It was however a little short height-wise. So, I got a set of 2" rolling casters that lock and installed them on the legs to extend them. It is now just the right height. I also found some baskets that fir perfectly at my local fabric store. I am very happy with this bench and it was at a very good price compared to anything else that I could find. I would definitely recommend this purchase.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 11 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: South Carolina
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Looks great is if you could assemble it!
Date:01/14/2012
Color is a nice dark antique cherry and matches my other furniture. The instructions are clear and easy to follow. The problem is with the holes that are predrilled. The holes are too deep or too shallow. The cam locks insert too deep so they could not line up with the cam bolts. Lots of attempts to get top aligned. The dowel holes were drilled too large. BE SURE TO USE A WOOD GLUE ON ALL JOINTS AND DOWELS to make it stable. Once you get through this it is a nice little bench. I plan to put rollers the legs on to allow for easy movement.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 12 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Scranton, PA
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a month
1 Hour From Boxed to Beautiful !
Date:02/02/2012
Pros: perfect for half wall or small spaces, great for 5"7 and under to put on shoes, looks fantastic
Cons: backboard is super thin, should have removable cushion cover
Once it arrived I used a phillips head screwdriver and a cloth with polish since it was generously packed in styrofoam. All surfaces and bags of parts were clearly labeled. I wanted this bench so my children could reach our wall hooks to hang their coats and store their shoes. This was an instant magnet for my children when they arrived home they knew just what to do. I kept the plastic on the firm bench pillow for now until the novelty wears off-then I will scotchguard. I did not purchase baskets as of yet. The color is dark and rich and all holes were drilled perfectly, no glue was used it is very sturdy with the exception of the thin backboard that screws to the back of the bench but I have the back against the wall. It says it holds 350 pounds and once assembled and all screws tightened - I agree.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 13 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: CA
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
good use
Date:02/21/2012
i bought this storage bench to go in my 6 year old daughters room, originally thinking that it was an open top bench (like a toy box). Not realizing that this was not the case my husband open and assembled the item. not only does it fit perfectly at the end of her twin size bed it is durable enough for her and her sister to sit comfortably on it. it had two little compartment opening in the front where we store folded "baby" blankets for the girls to use while resting or playing.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 14 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Omaha, NE
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Bench is nice but smaller than expected.
Date:08/15/2011
I bought this for my kids backpacks and a place to put on shoes in the morning as they rush out the door. It is good quality wood and easy to put together. Unfortunately it was smaller than expected. Of course, I could have checked measurements but what's the fun in that. The cushion is a little on the cheap side but will work well with kids my age since they will probably beat it up anyway. I was going to put baskets in to hide the backpacks but don't think I have room for both.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 15 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Monument, CO
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Stylish, easily assembled, and sturdy
Date:03/24/2011
This bench looks good, is very sturdy, and is a practical way to store many items. Assembly directions were good and it went together without a hitch. After assembling the bench, my husband added about an inch and a half of wood to the legs (nicely designed, stained, and finished) so that we could store items under the shelf. My only complaint is that the foam cushion is extremely hard. I plan to wrap it with fiberfill and sew a new cover for it to make it more comfortable.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 16 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Fairfax, VA
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Once a month
Nice for the price!
Date:04/16/2011
Easy to put together out of the box. Looks as shown in the photos. I wish it came with baskets that fit in the cubbies - I had a hard time finding the perfect fit and baskets that looked good too! The cushion on top is a bit plain and I wish it was a darker color fabric or was a better fabric - I am thinking about recovering it with something a little nicer quality. Overall i am satisfied with the product and with the price I paid.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 04/20/2011
BASKETS
Customer Avatar
lmb123
VANCOUVER, WA
Please please please tell me where you found baskets that fit. I can't find any!! I also bought the coat rack that has the cubbies also and can't find baskets for those either - :( Please tell me you have the coat rack as well and found matching baskets that fit that as well.
THANKS!
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 17 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Centennial, CO
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Fits perfect
Date:05/15/2011
This bench is the perfect size for a smaller entryway! The color is perfect and exactly as pictured. The assembly took about an hour and was quite simple with no issues. All pieces matched up and fit together just as the directions showed. We also purchased the matching shelf and the combination looks fantastic! We were very impressed with the quality, color and workmanship of this bench. It is a great addition to our home.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 18 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a month
Great benc
Date:04/02/2011
I bought this for a friend who had bought a new house. It helps to serve as extra seating when he has company. He liked it so much, he ordered another one and my daughter in law saw it and she wanted one as well. Its a great value and goes with lots of different decor. Would not hesitate to buy this again. Oh- I will say that if you find it in stock, better get it. It sells out quickly and you have to wait for restocking.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 19 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: West Sacramento, CA
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Very poor quality..returned it within a month!
Date:02/14/2012
Pros: none
Cons: low quality, pre-drilled holes don't match up
Ok here we go....
I saw this bench at the store and I liked the way it looked. I thought it would be great to have near the entrance of my house. I went and ordered it online and it took about a week to arrive. When I received the bench it came well packed and nothing inside was damaged.
When I started to assemble the bench, there were many holes that did not line up correctly. I must add, that the directions are horrible. I'm a very handy person and I'm currently remodeling my complete bathroom. Needless to say, a bench should be pretty easy to assemble. Well, the pre-drilled holes weren't matching up and the middle leg doesn't even touch the floor! I mean this bench is EXTREMELY poor quality. It was even on sale but I still couldn't live with the fact that this bench is down right worthless.
Look elsewhere! I would not waste my money on this bench. I'm just glad they have a very good return policy!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 20 for Storage Bench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: San Jose, CA
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
nice solid bench for a good price
Date:07/10/2011
Pros: price, nice looking
Cons: missing hardware parts
It's a nice looking bench and is solidly built. The one complaint we have about it is that not all the bolts were shipped with the bench so we had to find a replacement bolt at the hardware store (we weren't going to ship it back just for a couple of bolts). Great price, nice bench, but a little quality control on the parts shipped would make this perfect for the price.
0points
0of 0liked this review
1 2 3 next>>