Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kohl's.

Hamilton Beach Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker

This Hamilton Beach The Scoop single serve coffee maker only requires a scoop of your favorite coffee grounds and the press of the button to get things going. Limit 5 per household.
Average Customer Rating:
4.015 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (68 reviews)
5 stars
39
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
6
1 star
8
52 out of 66(79%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Review 21 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: El Paso, TX
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Nothing but a mess
Date:07/11/2012
I was looking forward to using my own ground coffee to make our morning cups one at a time. Unfortunately, this coffee maker was a mess! I had trouble with coffee splashing all over when using a mug, this one even poured water out above the grounds holder like a waterfall. Then when the coffee maker shut off...coffee kept dripping out into the reservoir...I had to keep sopping up the excess coffee so it would not overflow.
Back to the store it goes!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 07/27/2012
some possible solutions....
Customer Avatar
WICountryGirl
Wisconsin
Did you flip over the cup rest so the mug sits right under the spout? Also, the directions said to use the bold brew if water splashes over. It works, try it!
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 22 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Seattle
State: WA
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Works Great!
Date:03/15/2013
We have been using this coffee maker a little over a month now and we are really happy with it. Clean up is easy and it makes a great cup of coffee. A few tips on getting that great cup of coffee are to put hot water in the reservoir when getting ready to brew your cup and make sure you are using drip grind coffee. I use two tablespoons for a 14 oz cup and I find it comes out perfect. But adjust according to your taste. It may take a few tries.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 23 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Poconos
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Date:03/26/2012
I almost gave up on this product. I was used to my Senseo coffee maker but needed to find another single serve product when I could no longer find the pods. I had gotten used to a small cup of coffee and tried brewing a small cup with the Hamilton Beach. It doesn't work well. No matter how much coffee I tried using, I just couldn't get a good tasting cup of coffee. The small amount of water wasn't enough to brew a rich cup of coffee. Now I make a larger cup of coffee which requires more water and I catch the clear liquid with a shallow plastic lid at the beginning of the brewing cycle. Once the clear liquid runs out the coffee grinds are then saturated and a richer tasting coffee brews. I also tried different kinds of coffee settling on Columbian which makes stronger coffee; my preference. I'm glad I didn't give up and take this back to Kohl's.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 24 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Champaign, IL
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Once a month
There were some issues!
Date:12/29/2011
I gave this to my mom as a gift. She was very excited but that was short lived! She ran 8 cycles of water through it and it still smelled like something had burned! She then decided to try to put actual coffee in it to see if that would help and it didn't. It still smelled like something had burned, but she also had lots of coffee that came through the filter. So we returned this one and got an entirely different coffee machine.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 25 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Ohio
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a month
Love it!
Date:06/11/2012
Pros: no wasted coffee, make it your way
Cons: can't think of any
My husband and I get up in the morning at different times and This keeps up from having leftover coffee. I make just what I want when I want. Only get grounds in the cup when you over fill the filter. There are two levels of filters so you really shouldn't have a problem. My travel mug fits just right. This is actually the second one I bought because I am worried that if the first one ever breaks I won't be able to find one.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 26 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: KY
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Not worth the price
Date:06/14/2012
This item was $75.00, so I expected high quality. It is cheaply made and doesn't function properly. I poured in 14 oz. of water from a travel mug, but only 7 oz. came out. The rest of the water stayed in the system. My 10 oz. coffee mugs are tall and skinny, so I had to place them on the low platform. Coffee splashed everywhere, so I had to hold the mug close to the dispenser while it was perking. I'm going to return it.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 27 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: st louis, mo
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Once a month
I returned the item
Date:02/01/2012
I bought this item because I saw it on TV as one of the years best gifts. I returned it as the coffee dispensed was luke warm. It took twice as much coffee to make the same strength cup therefore I could only make a small cup because the filter could not hold enough coffee to make the large cup. I tried it, my husband tried it and my friend tried it. All said, this is terrible, take it back.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 03/07/2012
Returned
Customer Avatar
readthereviewsb4buying
I really wanted to love this machine, but there doesn't seem to be any way to get it to make anything other than a cup of coffee colored water. Possibly the weakest cup of coffee I've ever had.
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 28 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Farmington, Mi
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
This product provides exactly what I was seeking
Date:12/26/2011
I have coffee each morning in a 16 oz. cup. This coffee maker handles that. The only minus is that I have to set the cup at the lowest level so the filter does not extend into the cup. As a result, there is minor splashing onto my countertop as the coffee travels into the cup. That's OK because the end result is a delicious, hot, 16 oz. cup of coffee made with my own measurement of coffee.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 29 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: West Newton, PA
State: PA
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Only around holidays
ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS PRODUCT!!!!!
Date:05/02/2013
Pros: fast brew time
Cons: none
I am a coffee lover. I am not into flavored coffees but I do love a fresh cup of coffee. This product allows me to use my favorite coffee's and brew a hot cup of coffee. I read many reviews before I purchased this product and was not disappointed. The brew time is very fast and the clean up is quick. The ability to change the size of cup from regular to travel size is very easy.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 30 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
State: MI
Age: 55-65
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Great coffee
Date:07/27/2013
Pros: hot coffee.
I love this coffee maker. I had another coffee maker that used individual cups but when it quit working I had to find something else. The coffee is very hot and I love that I can use my favorite brand of coffee. The 14 oz. size is perfect for a 16oz. travelx coffee mug if you want to add cream. Looks great and doesn't take up much room on the counter.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 31 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Dissappointed
Date:01/03/2013
Pros: attractive design
Cons: weak coffee, not hot enough, grinds in bottom of cup
No matter how much I tried, I could not get get a good cup of coffee out of this. It is a nice looking coffee maker but it produces weak coffee and it is not hot enough. I have tried different types of coffee and grinds and the results are not favorable to me. It is a great concept, single serve without the expense or waste of k-cups, but it just does not work well enough.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 01/24/2013
Exchange it for a different one of same
Customer Avatar
DPizz
NV
Sometimes there is a defect in items that are manufactured... Perhaps this is one of them.... Others find it hot and excellent as do I... Kohl's will exchange it for another.
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 32 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Red Rocks Of Arizona
State: AZ
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Only around holidays
It's OK
Date:11/20/2012
Pros: nice looking, quick brewing, changeable stand for mugs
Cons: short cord, too big, travel mug not included
The Hamilton Beach Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker is a BIG appliance for a single serve coffe machine! It stands 12 3/8" tall, 6 5/8" wide, 10" deep with scoop in the machine or 8 1/4" without the scoop in the machine. You definitely need a filter in the scoop unless you don't mind the fine grounds on the botom of your cup. There is another filter under the scoop that needs cleaning after each use, unless you get the paper filters. No matching stainless steel travel mug is included like in the pictue. If you use a regular ceramic coffee mug, it pays to fill it with hot water to warm it up before brewing your coffee. Then your coffeee hot. The extension cord is short ~ 2 feet! The manual says it's short so that it won't hang over the edge of a table or countertop & get snagged. I had to buy a shorty extension cord to reach the outlet 40" away. So, if you warm your mug & get some paper filters, you'll get a nice cup of Java!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 33 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: London
State: KY
Age: Over 65
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Date:01/22/2013
I love this product! It makes the coffee hot, you use your own coffee so that's less expensive and it shuts off automatically. You can use any size cup and adjust the coffee to your taste. It does splatter a little around the cup but that is a small issue. I thought it was a little bit pricey but if it lasts, it will be worth it. A.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 34 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Flint, MI
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
Not what I was looking for
Date:04/25/2012
Produced a weak cup of coffee. The first few seconds of liquid coming out is water, not coffee. If that weren't the case, it would have been fine. Another reviewer said she caught that bit of water and discarded it, which would do the trick, but I didn't want to have to babysit it. It went back to the store. Will try a Keurig.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 35 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Houston
State: TX
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a month
Great machine without using pods
Date:03/12/2013
Pros: economical
This is a great little machine. Makes very good coffee without using those pods so you save money and better for the environment. The coffee is nice and hot and doesn't take too long to brew. The only negative thing I can say is that sometimes when you use a large mug the coffee splashes a little bit out on the machine.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 36 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Date:12/28/2011
My husband was so picky about what he wanted in a coffee maker that I didn't think I would ever find one. We saw this one advertised on HGTV and he loved it. I don't think he will ever go back to a regular coffee maker. He wanted to be able to use his own coffee for one cup and this one makes it very easy.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 37 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Dallas, TX
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
So Disappointed
Date:02/18/2012
The single serve coffer maker by Hamilton Beach is a big disappointment. I want to like it because of the conveniences of making one cup of coffee but I can not get past the taste of the coffee. If you know what a good cup of coffee taste like then i recommend that you avoid this coffee maker at all cost.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 38 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Newton, MA
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Great Single Serve Coffee Maker
Date:01/26/2012
I've been looking for a single serve coffee maker that makes a large cup. This makes approx 14 oz. I use my Brueggers travel mug and it fits perfectly.
I don't have to use special K-cups. Any brand of coffee works. I would recommend the bold setting for brewing the large cup. I'm very satisfied.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 39 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Love this coffee maker
Date:01/02/2012
I love this coffee maker. I use it every morning and it has not let me down. The best Christmas gift I have received (gift to myself) I love how you can make the coffee as strong or mild as you like. I also like that it does not use pods and you can purchase any coffee brand that you like
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 40 for Hamilton Beach The Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Priest River
State: ID
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
This product is exactly what I wanted!
Date:03/05/2013
Pros: quick, easy, no clean up, no waste, fresh coffee every time
Cons: can't think of any
The HB Scoop Single Serve Coffee Maker is perfect! It gives me a fresh cup of coffee each time without the "K cup" expense and waste. No need for a full pot of coffee at my house so this is working well and worth the price! I save the coffee grounds for my outside flowers & plants!
0points
0of 0liked this review
<<prev 1 2 3 4 next>>