Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kohl's.

Discovery Kids Discovery Kids Sewing Machine

Learn a skill with this Discovery Kids sewing machine. Whether you want to make a your own dress or fix a tear in your pants, this sewing machine is perfect for those do-it-yourselfers.
Average Customer Rating:
1.684 out of 5
1.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
13
2 out of 16(12%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Review 1 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Cartersville, GA
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Only around holidays
Store visits: Once a month
Too difficult tothread for an 8 yr old
Date:12/24/2011
And where the heck is the so called drop in bobbin?!?!?!? It is in Kohl's description but could not be found and was not listed anywhere in the enclosed user's instruction paperwork! Stitches are too easy to pull out no matter how the tension is set. How can it possibly make a seam without an adjoining bobbin thread??? VERY disappointed in this learning toy for my grandchild!
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Posted 01/01/2012
I need directions .
Customer Avatar
ibecca
duluth mn
We have no directions to get the thread on needle past the guard. Help. Is there some where on line to see a diagram on how to run this? Help.
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Posted 12/28/2011
Concur completely!
Customer Avatar
jamek97
USA
Upon opening and trying to use this machine we completely agree with the above poster... not a good machine.
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 2 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Not a Good Purchase
Date:02/06/2012
This machine was not a good purchase - I had a funny feeling it wouldn't be - should have listened to my instincts. Difficult to thread (like impossible), wouldn't sew post initial threading which came with it, just not a good thing. Very frustrating to teach a little one. Will go for some small version of the real thing.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 3 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: OHIO
Do not bother with this one
Date:01/01/2012
I purchased this machine for my grand daughter for Christmas. We went through a set of batteries and the spool of thread and still had nothing. Impossible to thread. Tensions are crazy. Nothing but frustration. By the way.... I can sew anything but not with this thing. A disappointing day for Zoie.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 4 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Would not buy this!
Date:12/25/2012
Cons: does not hold stitches
I sew A LOT and I wanted my daughter to learn on a machine that was her size (thought it might be easier) First of all there isn't a bobbin, so once you stitch, it unravels because there is nothing holding the top stitch. Very disappointed with it and it will be returned tomorrow.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 5 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Arizona
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
very very poor performance
Date:01/06/2012
Pros: looks nice
Cons: doesn.t work
What a disappointment! The child was so excited to receive this gift. We tried and tried, but we could not get it to work consistently. It would sew about an inch and then not sew. We read the directions and adjusted the tension, but to no avail. I would never buy this again. Also very hard to thread the needle. I alsoo wonder about replacement thread, since the spool is an odd size. Anyway, a sad experience for a little girl who had a sewing machine on the top of her Christmas list.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 6 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Makes good impression but fails to sew!
Date:01/09/2012
Pros: makes noise and looks great
Cons: stitches do not stay in fabric!!!
Very disappointed i guess with this machine. Hooked it up ok and it sewed a few inches, but once we had cut the thread and started a second time, the stitches never held in the fabric - like the bobbin thread split or something? Was going to return it promptly but I guess it might be a good 'make-believe' toy for my younger child as it looks the part. My 8 year old is now allowed onto my machine instead as it is less frustrating after all the build up and then failure of this one.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 7 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Westbrook
State: ME
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a week
Disappointing
Date:01/04/2014
Most disappointing purchase I have made. Comes with very small spool of thread that cannot be refilled. Doesn't have bobbin so the stitches pull out. Complete waste of money and a disappointment to a child who wants to sew.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 8 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Dartmouth,
State: MA
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Only around holidays
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Definately a cute idea for young beginners
Date:01/01/2014
Pros: child safe, great for young beginners
Cons: battery operated, needle guard awesome idea difficult to remove
The machine is good, but would be better if it was electric instead of battery operated.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 9 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Ohio
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Piece. Of. Junk.
Date:01/21/2012
This thing is impossible to use. After an hour or so I finally figured out how to re thread this thing but it will only sew a few stitches BY TURNING THE HAND WHEEL but once you start using the foot pedal, you can forget about anything holding. I find it humorous that on the instructions it says to make sure to turn the power switch off when a project is finished-as if a project could even be started on this hunk of junk.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 10 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: utah
Just too hard
Date:01/22/2012
So, I bought this having read the reviews and knowing it wasn't great. My daughter really wanted it, so i figured I'd just be patient in getting it to work. Problem is she wasn't. It takes so much effort to get the stitch sewn write and tied off. She had lost interest in it... and thats not even the time it takes to thread the thing. So bottom line; fun idea, but not worth the headache!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 11 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
good idea...
Date:01/05/2012
Pros: inexpensive
Cons: hard to thread, seems cheaply made
I liked the thought of this sewing machine. I got it for my 7 yr old daughterfor Christmas and she wants me to take it back. It is very difficult to thread, and even more difficult to set the stitch. We are going to spenda little more and get her one she cn actually use.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 12 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Long Island, NY
Age: 45-54
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: Once a month
Stay far away from this machine!
Date:01/10/2012
My daughter saw this in Kohls and was THRILLED that Santa brought it for her-i had some time explaining why Santa brought her something that just doesn't work! Stay far away from this machine-it is not worth the time or money!!!!!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 13 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Charlotte NC
Age: 25-34
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: Once a month
Not worth the money
Date:01/17/2012
We were very disappointed in this purchase. The product was cheaply made and my daughter was very disappointed it did not sew two pieces of material together. We ended up returning this to the store.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 05/22/2012
So disappointed
Customer Avatar
Here
Frederick MD
I purchased during the holidays for my daughters birthday because this wasn't something I saw in the store ofter. Worthless, you spend more time trying to figure out why it isn't stitching instead of it actually sewing anything. They should refund us and then some for this junk. She was so disappointed, she kept trying and trying and finally gave up crying.
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Iowa
This product has great features
Date:01/09/2012
Great little sewing machine for the beginner age 6+....however...very difficult to thread needle under the plastic case especially when thread gets pulled out by little fingers very easily.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 15 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Cottage Grove
State: MN
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
This item does not work
Date:03/07/2013
Cons: chain stich pulls out.
This is the second one I bought, same brand and style. This one skipped stitches. The other one did not sew at all. Totally junk and a waste of shipping money!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 16 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Huntley, IL
Age: Over 65
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Date:01/09/2012
The machine worked fine when the box was opened, however, it was impossible to thread the machine with another color thread. The process is much too complicated.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 17 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Norwalk
State: CT
Age: 35-44
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Not a good purchase
Date:10/02/2012
I didn't get time read the earlier reviews. Bought the item for my daughter. OOOps!!! It was a mistake and planning to return it as soon as possible!!!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 18 for Discovery Kids Sewing Machine
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Farnham, VA
Age: 55-65
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Date:12/31/2011
This is a nice little sewing machine for beginners. It is plastic so has the potential to easily break.
0points
0of 0liked this review