Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kohl's.

Simply Vera Vera Wang Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories

Revel in its luxury. This extraordinary comforter set is sure to add an element of intrigue to your bedroom. Complete the look with the matching accessories, sold separately. In charcoal.
Average Customer Rating:
3.52 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (25 reviews)
5 stars
9
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
4
1 star
4
16 out of 24(67%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Review 1 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Chicago, IL
Age: 25-34
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Poor purchase - This set is not meant to last!
Date:05/28/2011
I have had this bedding set for almost three years now and the quality of the entire set is pretty poor. The sheet on the bed has developed 3-4 small holes just from normal use and washing. The satin on the sheets has also faded and looks pretty bad now. The sheets also wrinkle - and I am not one who irons sheets! The comforter is also poor quality. The satin on the underside is all pilled and I cannot display it any longer because it does not look very nice. The set is very nice looking from afar, but it was not made to last. I am very disappointed and would not recommend if you plan on purchasing this set for regular use.
+3points
3of 3liked this review
Review 2 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Yonkers, NY
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
Please improve quality on Vera Wang bedding
Date:08/31/2011
This is my second Vera Wang bedding purchase and I am truly dissapointed. The style and colors are equally amazing but the quality is so poor. It looks great when you first put it on but shortly after it starts to pill and look really bad. The bedding was used in a room that is rarely used and still aged very quickly. For me, this was not an inexpensive purchase so I expected the quality to be better. It is also uncomfortable and catches on the skin. I wouldn't recommend these products to anybody unless they can afford to change their bedding every 6 months and aren't looking for comfort on the skin.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Review 3 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Indy
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
Beautiful, maybe not so practical
Date:02/03/2011
Pros: gorgeous!!!
Cons: fragile
I bought this set after Christmas and finally put it on our bed yesterday after some redecorating. It is truly beautiful. It looks very luxurious and the colors are fantastic. I painted the room a dark orchid, almost identical to the under side of the comforter. With white woodwork, espresso furniture, and a gray tweed headboard, the room looks truly amazing. I will say, however, after only 24 hours on the bed, the comforter has some snags already. I've already prohibited the dogs from getting on it but it is still snagging on everything and anything; a hangnail, the cat's paws, my wedding rings, etc.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 4 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Oak Creek, WI
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a month
Date:04/23/2012
I felt that I needed to write this review because after reading all the negative reviews, I almost did not even want to go look at this bedding. First, it is definitely more grayish black with a hint of purple. There is only the slightest green color in odd lighting, but to me, it still looks much more grey. As for the fabric, I find it very warm and comfortable. I am an avid weightlifter, and even my calloused hands do not make it snag (the cats have not had issues yet either). It is not as smooth as other comforters, but still feels great to me. It is plushy and makes me feel like I am sleeping at a nice hotel. Because I am very picky about bedding, it took me a few years to find just the right comforter. I definitely found it! The critical reviews written were very helpful because they allowed me to make my purchase with open eyes, but I have had a much more positive experience with this bed set then some people. Hope this is helpful.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Review 5 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Jersey Shore
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Less than five times per year
STAY AWAY! WISH I COULD GIVE ZERO STARS!
Date:05/17/2012
Other than the beauty of this set it has NO redeeming attributes. The bed spread is absolutely HORRIBLE. Within 2 days there were pulls and loose threads. Within a week it was pulling, particularly near the edges. And, unless you have skin as soft as a baby's bottom, and this is NO EXAGERATION, expect to catch your skin on this satin-like material each time you rub against it. A rather unsettling and uncomfortable feeling as (1) you know each time you do - another pull, and (2) you feel like a lizard getting into bed where you're supposed to be at your most relaxed.
1 month in the pilling was so intense - particular where the front textured side met the back smooth side - so up top where the comforter meets your face - that it would scratch against your face and make you feel like you were sleeping in a dirty comforter. At this point, the shams that are made of the same material that come with the comforter are also pilling. Also, I felt locked in as I had purchased the complete set as pictured, the lavendar coverlet, the throw pillows, etc.
I searched high and low for a charcoal gray comforter that could replace this terrible piece from Vera Wang. I couldn't believe it but I actually found one. It doesn't have the same sheen as the Very Want piece but the color was perfect. Back to Kohls with the Comforter set - and the one positive - customer service took it back with no problem.
I kept the 2 Purple Euro Shams as I had no problem with those, as well as the lavender "eye lash" pillows and the purple neck roll. I am now very happy with my set as the colors are stunning. BUT I WILL NEVER BY VERA WANG BEDDING - OR MAYBE ANYTHING - AGAIN. THIS COMFORTER WAS AND *IS* A NIGHTMARE. STAY AWAY!!!!
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Posted 08/15/2012
Agreed
Customer Avatar
Caiti123456
Chicago, IL
Times a million. Horrifyingly awful quality.
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Posted 06/28/2012
Hmm strange
Customer Avatar
jemada
WI
I've had my set for 3+ years now! I have had no issues with it! great condition! You must have just got unlucky... I would recommend this to a friend!!
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 6 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: South Dakota
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a week
Duvet Cover?
Date:02/04/2012
Love the color, texture and feel of this style, but the comforter is of inferior quality, and I don't like the purple accent color. Wish they would have just stuck with the single color, and had a duvet/comforter cover instead.
Also, the company missed a perfect opportunity to make more money, as a single color would have been more versatile, being able to mix with several different colors of coverlets (the charcoal/steel looks great with the Sky, Sienna Sky, Linear Plaid and Persimmon colors). Why they didn't allow for mixing & matching is beyond me. If I had a duvet cover in a single color, I would've bought two or three coverlets, and changed them out with the seasons.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 7 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Fayetteville
State: NC
Age: 25-34
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Date:08/25/2012
I bought this bedding set 5 years ago and still absolutely love it! The only issue I've had is that I've had to replace the sheets twice now because of frequent washing. The silk cuff eventually tears up (its silk you can't expect it to last forever). My comforter is the only one that has outlasted all of the other bedding sets my husband and I have ever purchased. I have also found the bedding to be extremely comfortable, I've read other comments and am shocked and saddened by the bad experience others have had with it. I highly recommend this bedding set to anyone who can afford it! LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!!!!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 8 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Boise Id
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
I expected more for the cost
Date:10/29/2010
Pros: great colors, comforter stays nice
Cons: sheets are poor quality
This set is beautiful as far as the colors go. What I was really disappointed in was the sheet set. They do not wash very well. I've owned cheaper sheet sets that didn't lose their shape like this one did. I bought the entire set the coverlet, sheets, comforter and three decorative pillows. For what I spent I guess I just expected a little more.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 9 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Bellingham, WA
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
Poor Material Quality & Color
Date:12/28/2011
Cons: fabric material feels terrible, color is more green than grey
I spent a lot of money on this Vera Wang set and ended up selling it at a garage sale for next to nothing due to the extremely poor quality of material and the color being completely off from the description. The color instead of charcoal looked green -I even brought it into several rooms in our house and took it outside to see if it was just the lighting in our bedroom that was throwing the color off - it wasn't the lighting. This was closer to an olive green than charcoal - not even close to what I was expecting. Luxurious? Hardly. The fabric had a REALLY cheap feel to it - if your hands or feet are even the slightest bit dry, they will catch on the material of the bedspread; if you forgot to shave your legs that morning - they will catch on the material. It's an EXTREMELY unpleasant feeling. Even my husband thought it was awful to the touch - which says a lot if he notices something like this. Very bummed and will never purchase any type of bedding with Vera Wang's name on it again. Do the designers even look at the products that they are putting out?
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 10 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Beautiful Bedding Set
Date:02/07/2011
I do love this bedding, but it does snag very easily. I received one from online and had to return for another one because there were loose threads everywhere. I am hoping this new set holds up! The colors are beautiful!
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 11 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
Love it!!
Date:02/18/2012
I'm very surprised at all of the negative reviews I have read so far and that is why I decided to write a review. I purchased this set over 1 year ago and am still in love with it and get many comments on it! I use it in my spare bedroom and have yet to have any problems with it. I have 2 different Vera Wang sets and love both, I am very particular so we do remove the comforter and decorative pillows before sleeping but the sheets and coverlettes in both sets have washed up nicely without the colors bleeding from the satin trim onto my white sheets. I dried my coverlettes on delicate cycle and did notice slight shrinking but they still fit perfectly and I wouldn't say it's anything to complain about. I would highly recommend!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 12 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: phila. pa
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Impressive to look at, not practical to use:(
Date:01/23/2012
Once the bed was made up it looked beautiful. However, it seems this set is only for looks. The comforter has little "lint balls" on the silk side, it is not machine washable so not sure where they came from, the comforter is on top of the Vera Wang Sheets. Also, the silk side has lots of pulls. The sheets don't seem "purple" enough, the color is muted and almost hard to decide if it is purple. Spent alot of money to create the look, but feel like this set won't hold up past a couple months.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 13 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Uncomfortable for Dry Skin
Date:01/02/2011
I bought this bedroom set because it was very beautiful, but after putting it on my bed and trying to sleep under the comforter, I found that the material is not comfortable on the skin. I don't have particularly dry skin, but the material seemed to find every elbow, foot, etc. that had any semi-dry skin and just rubbed against it in a very uncomfortable way. It seems to "catch" on the skin. While it is beautiful, I just found it too uncomfortable to sleep under, so I returned the set.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 02/02/2011
???
Customer Avatar
Corrina
Indy
How about using a top sheet??
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 14 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Indianapolis
State: IN
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Don't let the reviews scare you away
Date:08/28/2012
Pros: unisex, warm, great color
Cons: dry/rough skin catches
My husband and I bought this comforter a few weeks ago and we like it very much. It was hard to find something that we both liked and we were so excited by this set (plus, we got a great deal!)
The comforter is charcoal, but it does sometimes have an olive hue. Not really a problem, it still looks great.
If you have any dry skin it will catch on the comforter as some other reviewers mentioned, but I don't see leg hair being a problem unless you aren't using a top sheet. (this is the only reason it gets 4 stars instead of 5)
I did notice one snag a few days after we opened it, but I'm pretty sure it was from the zipper around the package. There haven't been anymore anywhere else on the comforter.
Overall, I would certainly recommend this product, it was definitely what we were looking for and we have been quite satisfied with it thus far.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 15 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: New Jersey
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a week
Great purchase
Date:11/13/2011
This is my 4th time buying this set. I love it and had no problem with snagging or anything, however, if you have pets, keep them off this set as pet hair inbeds in it and can not be removed. Just wish it was machine washable. I tried to wash one in my front load and it schredded! The dry cleaner wanted 100 to clean it, which is why I opt to buy a New one every so often. I have not found a set nice enough to even compare to this one!
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 16 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Brownsburg, IN
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Once a month
Beautiful colors!
Date:12/05/2011
I read several reviews before adding this item to our wedding registry and was a little apprehensive due to comments regarding snagging and such. I am glad I decided to add because I really do love the comforter and coverlet. We have only had them on the bed since the beginning of November, but I have not seen one snag. We did not purchase or receive the sheets so I am not able to speak to those products.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 17 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Beautiful and comfortable set!
Date:12/31/2010
Pros: beautiful, comfortable
Cons: snagging fabric
I love the feel and style of this entire set I have all the items and I absolutely love them! I did think they were over-priced but you are paying for the brad name. The only complaint I have is that the comforter is showing signs of snagging and I haven't even had it for a year yet. I would love to get another set if they weren't so expensive.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 18 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Seams of comforter ripped 3 separate times!
Date:12/26/2011
This bedding set is beautiful out of the bag but is extremely poor quality. I purchased the set about 6 months ago and have had to exchange the comforter three separate times when the seams near near the top of the comforter ripped, revealing large holes that the stuffing would show through. Due to the materials of the comforter, these rips quickly spreads and caused "runs" much like what would happen to women's stockings. I just exchanged the comforter for a new one last week and just today I noticed another rip! I do not have any pets or small children, and my fiancé and I take good care of our things, so there is no explanation as to why this product is ripping so easily. At this point, I wish I could return the comforter for a different bed set, but I unfortunately am locked into this comforter because I have the matching pillows and sheets and cannot afford to purchase an entire new set. I am extremely disappointed, because the set truly is gorgeous and so luxurious looking at first. I expected better from Kohl's and a Vera Wang product.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 19 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Liberty Township, OH
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
great style
Date:11/08/2010
I purchased the King comforter set, sheet set and coverlet and have had no problems even after washing the sheets. Everything fits well, is very comfortable, and looks great. Accent pillows seem a little pricey, so I'll wait for a sale.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 20 for Simply Vera Vera Wang City Night Comforter Set and Accessories
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Westport, TN
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
This coverlet has a great look
Date:11/21/2011
Right now I'm using the coverlet as a bedspread (I am still looking for the perfect comforter) and it looks so great I could leave like this forever. Color is perfect and quality is quite good. I am happy with this purchase.
0points
0of 0liked this review
1 2 next>>