Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Kohl's.

The Big One The Big One Bath Towels

Forever fashionable. You'll enjoy using these bath towels for years to come. In multi.
Average Customer Rating:
3.299 out of 5
3.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (351 reviews)
5 stars
128
4 stars
62
3 stars
35
2 stars
39
1 star
87
205 out of 337(61%)reviewers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for The Big One Bath Towels
Review 1 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: California
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Great towel for the price
Date:12/31/2010
If you don't have a lot of money and you have quite a few members of the family. these are a great towel for the price. We purchased 6 towels to start, because of the price. Now we have a total of 8. Didn't have a problem with lint like some people have stated. The only bad part was that my husband washed with some bleach and parts of towels faded. Haven't had any trouble with them unraveling either. We do have a couple of cats that love to pull them off the bar and pull a loop loose. With those I just cut off. Even then they didn't fray. They are soft and have held their softness for over a year. I would purchase again and would give as a gift.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Review 2 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Roswell, GA
Age: 55-65
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: Once a week
Very disappointed
Date:11/21/2011
I have purchased many of the Big One towels over the years but recently I was very disappointed in the quality of the 5 bath towels I purchased online. I compared them to the others I own and the new towels were much thinner and much less plush. I bought them to have for out of town company but I would be embarrassed to set these out for use. I emailed Kohls customer service to ask why this set of towels is so different and was told that I can return them & that they have sent my question further down the chain of command. I plan on checking out the towels at the store itself to see if it happened because of ordering online or if all the Big One bath towels are now thinner and less plush.
+3points
3of 3liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 11/30/2011
My comment submitted was basically the same.
Customer Avatar
momjeeps
Arkansas
I can tell you that when received them, with better quality, in the past they were also ordered online. So I suspect the supplier for this towel has changed and the quality over all has decreased. Sad, because they were a great value before. Now, you get what you pay for or less.
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 3 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Arkansas
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Less than five times per year
2nd time around a major dissappointment
Date:12/01/2011
Pros: cheap
Cons: poor quality, thin
These towels are no longer the same as what is pictured. I have four towels and wash clothes that are over a year old that have the same tag, "The Big One". The loops on the older towels are a twisted closed loop much like the picture when zoomed in. The older towel is thicker. When held to the light very little light shines through. The "new" version has open loops much like a lower quality towel you would get from a low priced bottom shelf store. When held to the light you can see a large amount of light through them. I was very dissappointed and will be returning them and purchasing towels from another retailer.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Review 4 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: MN
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
What happened to the quality of these towels??
Date:11/17/2011
I have used these towels for many years because the were very thick and plush. I just recieved my order for more and they are very thin and see thu! They are not at all soft either. Am returning all and am so disappointed in Kohl's for cheapening the quality like this.
+6points
6of 6liked this review
Review 5 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Online visits: 6-10 times per year
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
Nice mid-quality towel for the money
Date:11/08/2010
Pros: oversized, good value, durable
Over the last few years, we've purchased probably 200 or more of these towels for our rental cabins. They are not premium towels but for the price paid, they are a great value. These towels get lots of use and hold up well through repeated washings and occasional bleachings (white towels). I like the 30 x 56 inch size too--it's larger than the towels that I could afford at this price point in other brands. If you need a nice quality, everyday towel, the Big One does a good job. The towels will have some lint after the first couple of washings but them improve after they're broken in.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Review 6 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: St Louis, MO
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a week
Great Value
Date:01/16/2011
I buy these towels all the time and have never had a problem. If you like a plush towel, this is not the brand for you. I prefer the less plush towels as they dry faster in the dryer.
+5points
5of 5liked this review
Review 7 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Northern, Alabama
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Not What They use to be-Were returned.
Date:12/07/2011
Pros: cheap
Cons: quality
I bought these towels a year ago and was pleasantly surprised with the quality, absorbancy, and overall construction. With that in mind I decided to purchase these for a Christmas gift, after all, the ones I have are really nice. The package came in and I opened the box expecting the same towels I had bought a year ago. NOT AT ALL. They were rough, thin and I believe I could buy the same quality towels at my local discount store. It was so dissapointing I had to compare tags just to make sure I didn't mess up and order the wrong ones. Towels are still made in India, but definately not what they use to be. Yes, I returned them.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 8 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Santaquin, UT
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a week
HATE THEM!
Date:10/22/2010
I bought these for a really good deal.... doesn't matter! I got the chocolate brown color. Every time I dry off after showering, I look like a brown bear has shed all over me! They are FULL of lint. For a contact lens wearer, these are a NIGHTMARE! They are not very absorbent. Two words HATE THEM!
+4points
4of 4liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 03/15/2011
I feel the same way...
Customer Avatar
Justcustomer
Plano, TX
I have the same problem with the same color. Hate it too...
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 9 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Niles, IL
Age: 55-65
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Very thin - returned them
Date:11/11/2011
Cons: poor quality
This customer did not provide a text review.
+4points
4of 4liked this review
Review 10 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Indiana
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
quality has decreased dramatically
Date:02/15/2012
Pros: cheap
Cons: thin, doesn't absorb water
I have purchased many "Big Ones" towels in the past 5-10 years. The ones I purchased over the past year are significantly thinner and feel cheap. I just got out my kitchen scale and weighed a "big ones" towel that is probably 5+ years old and has been washed many, many times. Then, I weighed a "big ones" towel purchased within the past year that has only been washed a few times. The NEW towel is 2 ounces lighter than the 5+ year-old towel. I will NOT buy any more of these towels if Kohls continues to sell junk like this.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Review 11 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Wasted my money
Date:11/09/2011
I bought this brand of towels to redo my bathroom and waited about 4 months to actually use them. I washed them for the first time before use, hung them up in the bathroom for the family to enjoy brand new towels and the first person who used them was covered in brown towel pieces from head to toe. I decided to wash them once again thinking because they were new the just needed the extra washing, no this occurred again when someone tried to use them and also all my other towels were covered in brown lint pieces. I am very unhappy with these towels and for how comfortable and good quality they looked I was taken for my money. I would not recommend buying this towel or brand because you will be very disappointed.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 12 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Style: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Terre Haute, IN
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
I usually love The Big One towel sets
Date:02/15/2012
I normally love the " Big One" but for some reason the last set I bought have started to fray and come apart.. Im not sure why, but its just not as nice as all the other ones I have bought.. I have double checked to make sure it is a Big One and it is but not made as well as the other ones.. And I also bought another set and the stripped one that I bought is smaller than the solid color ones I have bought. Can you tell me why? I only use the " big one" in my house and I have given many sets away.( by sets I mean 6 towels and 6 washrags). I am going to get another set soon but if I have problems I will have to get a different brand..Wish Me LuckT
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 13 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Michigan
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Not up to snuff
Date:02/10/2011
Cons: easily stained, thin
We've been very disappointed in these towels. They are not as thick/plush as in the past and several of them STAINED on the very FIRST use and will not come clean. They look whitened and discolored in splotches as if bleach had been poured on various sections. We threw out some already. It seems to me that Kohl's has switched their source of The Big One. It was not up to Kohl's quality standareds.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Review 14 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Kentucky
Age: 45-54
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once a month
Amount of lint was amazing
Date:03/01/2011
Cons: too much lint
I washed these towels before using them and the amount of lint was amazing. It was all over everything. I bought the navy towels and decided to wash them again by themselves. Again, a lot of lint. I used one following a shower and I was covered with fuzz. I took the towels back. Even the seam at the bottom of the towel was unraveling. Not recommended, although they were soft and absorbent.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Posted 03/15/2011
Customer Avatar
Justcustomer
Plano, TX
I have it in chocolate color and my bathroom turn brown from the lint... Very bad quality.
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Posted 03/09/2011
Customer Avatar
AnaZ
Long Island, NY
I bought stripes and solids. Only the stripes were a nightmare. I washed several times and finally returned all the striped. I've bought both in the past, and never had this problem
+1point
1of 1liked this comment
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 15 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Tulsa, OK
Age: 25-34
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: 6-10 times per year
This product has gone down in its quality.
Date:03/17/2012
I have bought this particular brand for several years. The reasons why I choose to continue to buy this product was due to the quality and price. These towels use to be very plush, which I loved. Today when I came in and purchased the towels I was excited cause the price had remained the same and I thought the quality would have remained the same as well. To my disappointment after I purchased the new towels and came home I compared them to my old towels that I purchased 3 yrs ago. My old towels are more plush than the ones that I purchased today. Needless to say I returned the towels that I purchased today. The towels were so thin that I could see through them. I can say that I am now a very disappointed customer....very sad.
+1point
1of 1liked this review
Review 16 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Quality: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: St. Louis, MO
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once every two weeks
Store visits: Once every two weeks
Great towels for the price-but they shed at first
Date:12/31/2011
Pros: good value, soft and absorbant for years
Cons: initially they shed a lot
This is our second time buying these towels. (The first time was years ago.) I have been pleased both times. The color fades a bit over time, which is expected, but they feel good after years of washing. I must warn that they shed A LOT when you first get them. I found that they shed really badly through the first three or four washings, then noticeably through the next few washings. After they shed, they are perfect for the price. They are big enough to wrap around my pregnant belly, but not too big to use as a bath towel. I have bought these for my parents and my sister. I hope that when we need to replace this set that they will still be available.
0points
0of 0liked this review
Review 17 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: nebraska
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a month
Store visits: Once a month
not what they used to be
Date:12/01/2011
I bought some of these towels several years ago and they held up well. When it came time to replace them this year, I bought more. Even though the brand is the same, they are not the same towels. The first wash they were frayed, not just on the edges- but long strings of thread throughout all the parts of the towels
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Review 18 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: GA
Shedding problem
Date:10/23/2010
I have been using the towels for about three months and they continue to shed excessively. I washed them several times before using them because the shedding was so bad after the first wash, I thought they were falling apart. The lint from the towels gets all over the bathroom.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Read Comment (1)
Comments (1)
Posted 03/15/2011
Customer Avatar
Justcustomer
Plano, TX
My drier was full of lint from these towels. I hate it. Complete waste of my money. Made me so mad...
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (1)
Read Comment (1)
Review 19 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Wilmington, NC
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Less than five times per year
Store visits: Less than five times per year
Cheap!!
Date:10/21/2010
Pros: cheap
Cons: cheap, horrible quality, unravel, don't absorb
This line of towels, hand towels, & wash cloths are all horrible. They started unraveling after just one wash. They don't absorb and leave the dryer lint trap overloaded with tons of fuzz. I got these really cheap and thats exactly what they are. Cheap! Don't waste your money.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
Read Comments (2)
Comments (2)
Posted 03/15/2011
Customer Avatar
Justcustomer
Plano, TX
I am agree with both of you. Cheap and bad!
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Posted 12/27/2010
Customer Avatar
therealmrsh
Milwaukee, WI
I totally agree! We got these towels for our wedding and after one wash, they all began to unravel...even the bath mats! I would never purchase these again!
0points
0of 0liked this comment
Comments (2)
Read Comments (2)
Review 20 for The Big One Bath Towels
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Quality: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Style: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Customer Avatar
Location: Utah
Age: 35-44
Online visits: Once a week
Store visits: Once a week
Horrible towels!
Date:10/17/2010
Pros: none
Cons: hard, does not absorb well, poor quality, falls apart after washing
There is very little I like about these towels. They are hard and do not absorb well. I bought some when a particular color went on clearance, and ended up using them as a cleaning rag. They were too hard even for my dog.
Absolutely would not recommend.
+2points
2of 2liked this review
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>